Austvågøy

I take the bus to the other side of the island chain, passing other fjords and mountains that are just as scenic. They soon taper off to less dramatic hills and scenery. As the clouds roll in I even drift off, waking up for a shopping break in Leknes, the largest city in the artic. 

Kabelvåg


I continue on towards the town of Kabelvåg. There is a steeple and traditional fisherman’s town I explore after the hike. I summit the mountain towering over the town up to Tjeldbergtind. The path is straightforward and only muddy at a few parts. The extra day of sun dried out most of the dirt. With a bit of effort, I push up past a lake towards a view over the surrounding mountains. It is pleasant, but pales in comparison to the area around Reinefjord.

I have a similar reaction to a nearby hike of the mountain visible from this viewpoint. This mountain, Festvågtind, is much steeper and looks impossible from the bottom. However it is quite similar to the Reinebringen trail, just straight up, although I am once again let down by the views. There is a nice lake halfway and view that stretches over the islands of Hellingsvaer. However, the view is not that much different from the peak, though the mountains behind me look quite nice as the sun comes out.

I take some time to explore the town of Henningsvaer, which has not one concrete building in it. There is a music festival, so Norwegian rock bands play in the background as I walk the crowded streets and check out the crafts shops. The glass makers in particular are great, and I see the hearth while they take a lunch break. 

I have a fish cake snack myself, which is delicious. I also try a waffle with the traditional brown cheese—not so delicious. The area around the football field, famous for the iconic overhead drone photographs, is a bit of a let down as well. 

Maybe it is the new snacks I try, or all the mud caked my fingers as I snack on my wraps for lunch, but my stomach becomes wildly upset. I have to stop to relieve myself near the muddy lake, an unpleasant experience during this emergency that neither the lake nor I appreciate. But I am proud of myself for making my way down the steep path without having an accident!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Helvetestind | Krauss-ing The World

Leave a comment